Best software for restaurants: bookings, menu and till
Which software for your restaurant or bar: bookings, QR menu, till and orders in Last.app, Qamarero, Square, CoverManager and BAI. With sources and dates.
Héctor RedondoCEO and founder of BAI Business
Contents
- The criteria we compare by
- The tools
- Last.app
- Qamarero
- Square
- CoverManager
- Where BAI fits and where it doesn't
- How we checked this
- Frequently asked questions
- Which program should I choose for a small restaurant?
- Is there a free till program for restaurants?
- How much does a program for a restaurant cost?
- What must the program comply with on allergens and invoicing?
- Sources
| Tool | Who it is for | Limits | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Last.app | Restaurants and bars that want till, QR menu, bookings and delivery in one plan | Priced per premises and billed annually; kitchen screens and the paid The Book are added on top | €50, €95 or €175 a month + VAT per premises, billed annually Source, accessed on 10 October 2026. |
| Qamarero | Restaurants that want to start with the till and switch on modules as they grow | The advanced bookings, delivery and control modules cost more; the page does not state VAT | From €119 a month; Basic plus one module, €199 a month Source, accessed on 10 October 2026. |
| Square | Venues that want to start with a free till and pay per payment processed | Each payment carries a fee; its Plus plan is charged per point of sale | €0 a month (Free) or €59 + VAT a month (Plus), plus a fee per payment Source, accessed on 10 October 2026. |
| CoverManager | Restaurants that want to focus effort on bookings, waiting list and loyalty | Focuses on bookings and customers; the till connects to a separate EPOS system | Not stated: the page does not publish prices Source, accessed on 10 October 2026. |
| BAI Business | Venues that want bookings, menu, till, stock and customers on one platform | General platform for small businesses, not a booking network with its own audience | Depends on the plan; explained in a conversation |
For a restaurant, Last.app and Qamarero bring together till, QR menu, orders and bookings in one plan; Square fits if you start with a free till and pay per payment processed; CoverManager focuses on bookings. Choose according to whether you need a till, bookings or both, and how many premises you have.
Reviewed on 2026-10-10. BAI Business is one of the tools compared and publishes this article. In the table, BAI appears as "depends on the plan": it is explained in a conversation.
The criteria we compare by
- Bookings. The customer books on their own, you see the free tables in real time and the program handles cancellations and no-shows.
- Menu and allergens. A digital menu with a QR code that is updated in one place and gives the allergens of each dish.
- Till and kitchen. Payment per table, kitchen order and till closing, with the devices you already have.
- Your own orders. Orders from the table, the website or for takeaway that go into the kitchen and the bill, and how delivery platforms are handled.
- Invoicing in order. Simplified invoice at payment and a verifiable invoicing system, with its adaptation date.
- Price, premises and exit. What the fee includes, what the extras cost and how you take your data with you if you leave. The tests to check it are in the downloadable guide for restaurants and bars (PDF, in Spanish).
The tools
Last.app
Last.app offers till software for hospitality with three plans that differ mainly in the till licences and the delivery orders included. Its page presents as part of the package the online shop with no commissions, the digital menu with ordering at the table from the customer's phone, stock control, team clocking in, a delivery integrator with the delivery platforms, marketing and promotions, and sales reports. Bookings are handled with its own module, The Book, which has a free basic plan and paid ones.
The plans cost €50, €95 and €175 a month plus VAT per premises, billed annually, with two, four or unlimited till licences and with one hundred, five hundred and fifty or unlimited delivery orders included; kitchen screens add €35 a month, and stock is included from the middle plan (source: Last.app, accessed on 2026-10-10).
It suits a restaurant or bar that wants the till, the QR menu and the orders in one program and is thinking of several premises. Work out the cost with your premises and your real orders, because the fee depends on both, and ask what happens to your data if you leave: the page does not detail this.
Qamarero
Qamarero offers a base plan and modules that you switch on when the business needs them. All the plans include till, order-taking app, QR-code menu, kitchen screen and ordering and paying from the table. The modules add advanced bookings, customer management, a loyalty programme and reviews; its own commission-free delivery channel with management of delivery drivers; and staff control, real-time inventory, cost control and analytics.
The page states plans from €119 a month and €199 a month for the base plan plus any module, and a set-up fee of €200 on the base plan; it does not say whether the prices include VAT (source: Qamarero, accessed on 2026-10-10). It makes clear that you can start with the base plan and switch on modules later without penalties.
It suits a restaurant that prefers to start small and grow by modules, with the till and the menu from the first day. You have to add the modules you need to know the final cost, and ask in writing whether VAT is included and how long the commitment lasts before signing.
Square
Square for restaurants combines a till with card payments. Its Free plan includes till devices and unlimited points of sale with support Monday to Friday; the Plus plan adds real-time sales reports, dish management, unlimited kitchen screens and round-the-clock support, with a free trial. For high volumes it offers a Premium plan with custom prices. The page stresses that there is no minimum-term contract and that you can change plan whenever you want.
The Free plan costs €0 a month and Plus €59 + VAT a month per point of sale; in-person payments carry a fee of 1.25% + €0.05 and online payments with EU and EEA cards 1.4% + €0.25 (source: Square, accessed on 2026-10-10).
It suits a venue that wants to start with no fixed fee and that takes almost everything by card. What to look at is the cost per payment, which grows with sales, and to ask to be shown how it covers bookings, the menu with allergens and delivery orders, because the page presents the program mainly as a till and payments.
CoverManager
CoverManager focuses on bookings and the relationship with the customer. Its Standard plan is designed for independent restaurants and brings together call handling with Call Assist, table assignment on a floor plan, a customer database, connection with the EPOS system and the mobile app. The Premium plan adds an automatic waiting list, detection of bookings at risk of a no-show, replies to reviews with artificial intelligence and marketing, and the Performance plan adds card holds, API integrations and management of several premises. It also offers add-ons such as a voice and WhatsApp assistant, takeaway orders, a website and payment at the table.
The page does not publish prices for any of the three plans and refers you to request a demo (source: CoverManager, accessed on 2026-10-10).
It suits a restaurant whose main challenge is filling tables, controlling cancellations and building loyalty. It does not replace the till on its own: the page speaks of connecting the EPOS system, so you need a separate till program and to ask for the price in writing before comparing.
Where BAI fits and where it doesn't
BAI Business is a management platform for the self-employed and small businesses: CRM, website, visibility on Google, AI receptionist, appointments, invoicing and team. For a restaurant or bar, according to its solution sheets, it includes booking pages with real free slots and a no-show mark; a dining-room till with a table plan, kitchen order and till closing that works with phones and tablets; a QR-code menu and orders from the table, the premises or the website that go into the kitchen and the bill; recipe costing and stock with recipes; and a customer record fed by bookings and orders.
It fits if you want bookings, till, menu, stock and customers on a single platform, plus the website and the Google profile. It doesn't fit if you are looking for a booking portal with its own audience: BAI is not one. The allergens of each dish are marked by the restaurant and the responsibility to inform remains theirs; the invoicing adaptation date and the data processing agreement are requested in writing on the call. If another program on this list covers what you need better, choose it. You can run the ten criteria in the downloadable guide (PDF, in Spanish) against any program, ours included, and see BAI on the page for restaurants and bars.
How we checked this
We read the official pricing page of each provider on 2026-10-10 and noted only what is stated on it; what is not stated is said so or not written. We compare programs with the same purpose and with essential, relevant and verifiable features, with no judgements about any brand, as Spain's Unfair Competition Act (Ley de Competencia Desleal) requires for comparative advertising. Prices change: each figure carries its date and the page is reviewed every ninety days, or sooner if a price changes. BAI Business is one of the tools compared and publishes this article.
Frequently asked questions
Which program should I choose for a small restaurant?
It depends on what you need first. If the urgency is the till, look at EPOS programs with menu and kitchen; if it is filling tables, those focused on bookings. The table summarises who each is for and what it doesn't do.
Is there a free till program for restaurants?
Some providers offer a free plan and charge a fee on each payment processed. The table shows which, with their source and the date they were accessed.
How much does a program for a restaurant cost?
It depends on the number of premises, the licences and the modules you switch on. The table gives what each provider publishes, with its date; check it before signing up because it changes.
What must the program comply with on allergens and invoicing?
The menu must be able to give the allergens of each dish and the invoices must comply with the verifiable invoicing system. The downloadable guide sets them out with their official source.
Sources
- Last.app pricing, accessed on 10 October 2026.
- Qamarero pricing, accessed on 10 October 2026.
- Square for restaurants: pricing, accessed on 10 October 2026.
- CoverManager plans, accessed on 10 October 2026.
Keep reading
Best tools
Best small-business CRMs: HubSpot, Pipedrive, Zoho and BAI
Which CRM for your small business: HubSpot, Pipedrive, Zoho CRM, Holded and BAI Business compared on sales and automation. With sources and dates.
Best tools
Best CRM for estate agents: a comparison for agencies
Which CRM for your estate agency: Inmovilla, Mobilia, Inmoweb, Witei, HubSpot and BAI Business compared on portfolio, portals and website. With sources.
Best tools
Project management software: what to look for
Seven criteria for choosing project management software in a small business, when you need none and how to try it for two weeks on a real project.